Setting Up a Fund Management Company in Singapore - Waystone

      在新加坡设立基金管理公司

      新加坡拥有完善的基础设施和有吸引力的税收制度,并因此发展成为顶尖的基金管理中心;各金融机构均可在新加坡管理基金业务,并在新加坡设立实体机构。

      事实上,基金管理仍然是新加坡受监管的主要活动之一,目前大约有900家新加坡基金管理公司。

      在新加坡,基金管理公司均受到《证券与期货法》(第289章)的监管。为了开展受监管的基金管理活动,基金管理公司必须在新加坡金融管理局注册为以下公司类型或获得相关牌照:

      • 注册基金管理公司(RFMC)
      • 资本市场服务牌照(CMSL),作为一家持牌基金管理公司
      • 风险投资基金管理人(VCFM)
      • 或被明确免于持有牌照。

      针对 RFMC 和 VCFM 的合规要求和监督并不十分严格,而持牌基金管理公司则须持有一个完整的牌照,申请人必须满足更加严格的先决条件才能获得牌照。

      设立新加坡基金管理公司的益处

      新加坡拥有完善的基础设施和有吸引力的税收制度,并因此发展成为顶尖的基金管理中心;各金融机构均可在新加坡处理基金业务,并在新加坡设立实体机构;原因如下:

      • 具有竞争力和透明的税收制度
      • 覆盖范围广泛的全球税收协定网络
      • 属地税制
      • 无资本利得税
      • 专门针对基金行业的免税
      • 所有新加坡公司都可以享受的许多其他税收优惠
      • 经合组织白名单
      • 强大的监管环境和投资者保护
      • 营商便利度
      • 高效的法律体系
      • 熟练的本地劳动力
      • 英语为第一语言
      • 众多金融机构和服务供应商的枢纽。

      我们的监管合规服务

      Waystone 合规部提供全方位的服务,助力基金管理公司实现合规。我们专门的监管合规团队知识渊博,经验丰富,反应迅速。因此,客户可放心依赖我们,视我们为其团队的左膀右臂。我们的监管合规服务包括:

      • 设立公司 – 我们将以适当的结构注册成立公司。
      • 牌照申请 – 我们将分析贵公司的业务类型,并帮助贵公司将受监管的业务计划与牌照申请一起提交。在提交牌照申请之前,我们还将仔细检查所有将要提供给新加坡金融管理局的相关文件。
      • 政策和程序 – 我们确保贵公司的政策及程序设置齐全,为贵公司的业务策略锦上添花。
      • 风险管理与公司治理 – 我们为贵公司建立风险管理框架和合规监测计划,以确保相关政策和程序得到相应的执行。
      • 日常合规 – 我们的团队将随时为贵公司服务,确保与贵公司合规技术事项有关的任何疑问或问题均得到圆满解决。

      详细了解我们的新加坡牌照发放和注册解决方案

      对新加坡基金管理公司的关键要求

       

      要求 持牌 FMC – 散户 持牌 FMC – 认可投资者(A/I) RFMC 持牌 FMC – VCFM
      管理的资产金额 2.5 亿新元以上 2.5 亿新元以上 不超过 2.5 亿新元 任何金额
      董事人数和经验 至少有2名具有5年以上相关经验的董事,以及1名具有10年以上相关经验的首席执行官。在2名董事中,至少1名必须是执行董事和新加坡居民。 至少有2名董事具有5年以上的相关行业经验。至少1名必须是执行董事和新加坡居民。 至少有2名董事具有5年以上的相关行业经验。至少1名必须是执行董事和新加坡居民。 至少有2名董事,其中至少1名应是全职并居住在新加坡
      最低限度的基本资本要求 50万新元或100万新元 25万新元 25万新元 无具体要求
      投资者类型 所有投资者 – 无限制 仅限[1]合格投资者 仅限合格投资者 仅限经认可的机构
      投资者人数 无限制 – 所有类型的投资者 无限制 – 所有类型的投资者 最多30个投资者(可包括最多15个基金)。 无限制 – 经认可投资者或合格投资者。
      合规安排 全职,独立的合规职能 如果资产管理规模低于10亿新元,这个职能可以外包。 可以根据业务的复杂性和规模进行外包 如果资产管理规模低于10亿新元,这个职能可以外包。
      专业赔偿保险 强制性的,与资产管理相称的保险 鼓励保持 鼓励保持 迄今没有规定,但这应与具体设立公司的规模、性质和复杂性相称。
      要求 每年和每季度 每年和每季度 每年 每年
      基于风险的资本要求 运营风险要求的120% 运营风险要求的120% 迄今没有规定,但这应与具体设立公司的规模、性质和复杂性相称。

      [1] 合格投资者:经认可投资者,在新加坡,集体投资计划只提供给经认可投资者以及持有人仅为经认可投资者的封闭式基金。经认可投资者是指个人资产净值超过200万美元或当局规定为第一金额的其他金额,且金融资产超过100万美元(扣除任何相关负债)或在过去12个月的收入不低于30万美元的个人或净资产超过1000万新元或等值的公司。

      针对新加坡的关键要求

      基金管理公司

      在设立新加坡基金管理公司时,散户、认可投资者、RFMC和持牌FMC-VCFM必须遵守若干要求。

      其他关键要求

      1. 合适和适当
      2. 基金行政管理
      3. 审计
      4. 反洗钱(AML 框架)
      5. 托管安排
      6. 基金和基金管理公司的税收制度
      7. 由新加坡基金管理公司管理的基金的税务风险
      8. 新加坡的基金税收优惠计划概要
      9. 基金设立方案
      10. 公司
      11. 单位信托基金
      12. 有限合伙公司
      13. 可变资本公司(“VCC”)

      合适和适当

      新加坡基金管理公司应根据新加坡金融管理局发布的《合适和适当标准准则》,使新加坡金融管理局确信其股东、董事、代表和雇员以及基金管理公司本身是合适和适当的。

      基金行政管理

      基金管理公司必须对基金行政管理进行独立管理,或进行充分的职责划分,特别是在履行诸如估值或基金会计、充当基金注册人和客户报告(如发送月度账户报表)等职能方面。

      审计

      基金管理公司需要有一名外聘审计师来执行年度独立审计。审计师向新加坡金融管理局提供审计报告,包括他们对财务报表的意见,以及基金管理公司是否符合主要牌照发放和商业行为要求;这是对所有基金管理公司的强制性要求之一。

      反洗钱(AML)框架

      基金管理公司需要制定健全的“了解您的客户”(KYC)政策。所有基金管理公司都必须制定这些政策,并建立一个反洗钱框架来识别、评估、了解和处理其洗钱和恐怖主义融资风险。

      托管安排

      基金管理公司需要将客户的资金和资产交给一个在持有资金或资产的司法管辖区获得牌照、注册或授权(可以履行托管职能)的托管人。尽管新加坡基金管理公司不直接负责指定托管人,但必须能够证明自己已经采取了合理的步骤来确定资产受到充分保障,包括独立托管。

      基金和基金管理公司的税收制度

      新加坡是私募股权、房地产和对冲基金管理公司的重要基地,对于在亚太地区的投资而言尤其如此。新加坡也越来越多地被作为基金工具(基金)的首选地点。新加坡基金管理行业的辉煌发展可以归功于几个因素,包括新加坡的营商便利度以及对基金和基金管理公司富有吸引力的税收优惠。在开曼群岛等传统的离岸基金管辖区之外,新加坡被视为拥有对基金和基金管理公司最有吸引力的监管和税收制度之一。

      由新加坡基金管理公司管理的基金的税务风险

      设在新加坡的基金管理公司可能因地域活动而需要在新加坡纳税。基金管理公司可在新加坡为基金设立应税机构(不论在岸或离岸),因此,基金获得的某些收入和收益可能会被视为来源于新加坡,须在新加坡纳税。然而,根据新加坡的基金税收优惠计划,只要符合某些条件,这个纳税义务可以取消。

      新加坡的基金税收优惠计划概要

      在新加坡,由基金管理公司管理的基金可享有三个主要免税计划;根据这些计划,基金从“指定投资”中获得的“指定收入”(包括收益)可以免税。截至2019年3月31日,所有受任何一项税收优惠计划规管的基金都可以在基金存续期间享受免税待遇,但基金必须继续满足每项计划的相关条件。

      基金设立方案

      在新加坡,基金可以设立为公司、单位信托基金、有限合伙或可变资本公司(VCC)等形式。

      公司

      在亚洲投资的基金的首选结构仍然是私人有限公司(”PTE LTD”),因为新加坡的税收协定只适用于公司。选择PTE LTD结构需要遵守《新加坡公司法》的规定。在实践中,这意味着:

      • 基金必须每年向注册机构(ACRA)和税务机关(IRAS)提交申报。
      • 基金的任何认购或赎回都需要遵循公司法的要求。
      • 关于基金的某些信息保持公开
      • 投资者通常通过可赎回优先股投资于公司结构的基金,而基金的发起人持有普通股。
      • 在发行或赎回优先股后,公司必须准备相关的决议,并在 ACRA 更新详细信息。

      单位信托基金

      共同基金通常选择以单位信托的形式成立,这样做的好处是不受《新加坡公司法》的约束。然而,单位信托需要任命一个单位信托基金的核准受托人,以作为集体投资计划(CIS)的形式,因此可能会增加运营该结构的成本。

      有限合伙公司

      有限合伙公司是世界范围内流行的基金工具。在新加坡,这些公司受《有限合伙法》管辖。与公司相比,有限合伙公司的年度合规要求较少,公开披露也较少。然而,新加坡的税收协定并不适用于有限合伙公司。

      可变资本公司(“VCC”)

      2018年10月1日,一项关于新结构的法案获得通过,称为《可变资本公司法案》。这种基金结构适用于开放式和封闭式基金。VCC 结构的好处包括:

      • 在管理新加坡的投资基金方面提供灵活性
      • 将帮助基金管理公司实现成本效益
      • 有助于促进资金的重新注册
      • 有助于获得税收协定和免税计划的好处

      如需详细了解新加坡基金管理公司的关键要求,或了解在新加坡的牌照发放和注册的情况,请立即联系 Waystone 合规团队。

      Get in touch

      Call us

      Select phone
      • Bermuda
      • Canada
      • Cayman Islands
      • Hong Kong
      • India
      • Ireland
      • Luxembourg
      • Philippines
      • Singapore
      • Switzerland
      • United Arab Emirates (Dubai)
      • United Arab Emirates (Abu Dhabi)
      • United Kingdom
      • United States

Setting Up a Fund Management Company in Singapore - Waystone

      Setting Up a Fund Management Company in Singapore

      Singapore’s strong infrastructure and attractive tax system have developed it into a leading fund management centre, where institutions can manage fund operations with a presence and substance in Singapore.

      In fact, Fund Management continues to be one of the main Regulated Activities in Singapore, with approximately 900 Singapore fund management companies in existence.

      A Singapore fund management company is regulated by under the Securities and Futures Act (Cap. 289). In order to conduct the regulated activity of fund management, a fund management company must obtain either registration or license from MAS as a:

      • Registered Fund Management Company (RFMC),
      • Capital Markets Services License (CMSL) as a Licensed Fund Management Company,
      •  Venture Capital Fund Manager (VCFM),
      • Or be expressly exempted from holding a license.

      RFMC and VCFM are subject to less stringent compliance requirements and oversight whereas the Licensed Fund Management Company would be deemed to be a full license and would have stricter preconditions before being granted to an applicant.

      Benefits of Establishing a Singapore Fund Management Company

      Singapore’s strong infrastructure and attractive tax system have developed it into a leading fund management center, where institutions can handle fund operations with a presence and substance in Singapore for the following reasons:

      • The competitive and transparent tax system
      • Extensive tax treaty network worldwide
      • Territorial tax system
      • No capital gains tax
      • Tax exemptions specifically for the fund industry
      • Numerous other tax incentives available to all Singapore companies
      • OECD whitelist
      • Strong regulatory environment and investor protection
      • Ease of doing business
      • Effective legal system
      • Skilled local workforce
      • English as the first language
      • Hub for a vast number of financial institutions and service providers.

      Our Regulatory Compliance Services

      Waystone Compliance provides the full spectrum of services for Fund Managers’ compliance. Our dedicated regulatory compliance team comes with extensive knowledge, diverse experience, and the ability to react fast. This enables clients to rely on us in this manner so much so that we are an extension of their team. Our regulatory compliance services include the following:

      • Setting up your business – We will incorporate the appropriate structure.
      • License Application – We will analyze your business type and help you put a regulated business plan together with your license application. We’ll also check all relevant documentation to be provided to the MAS prior to submission of your license application.
      • Policy and procedure – We ensure that your policies and procedures are adequately set up to complement your business strategy.
      • Risk Management & Corporate Governance – We set up your Risk Management Framework & Compliance Monitoring Plan to ensure that the implemented policies and procedures are executed accordingly.
      • Ongoing Compliance – Our team will be at your fingertips to ensure that any queries or questions relating to your compliance technicalities are resolved.

      Learn more about our Singapore Licensing & Registration Solutions

      Key Requirements for Singapore Fund Management Companies

      Requirements Licensed FMCs-Retail Licensed FMCs -Accredited Investor (A/I) RFMC Licensed FMCs-VCFM
      Amount of Assets under Management Above S$250 million Above S$250 million Maximum of S$250 million Any Amount
      The number of Directors & Experience Minimum of 2 Directors with more than 5 years of relevant experience, and 1 CEO with more than 10 years of relevant experience. Of the 2 Directors at least 1 must be Executive and Singapore-resident. Minimum of 2 Directors with more than 5 years relevant industry experience. At least 1 must be Executive and Singapore-resident. Minimum of 2 Directors with more than 5 years relevant industry experience. At least 1 must be Executive and Singapore-resident. Have at least two directors, at least one of whom should be full-time and resident in Singapore
      Minimum Base Capital Requirements S$500,000 or S$1 million S$250,000 S$250,000 No Specific requirements
      Investor Type All investors – no limitation Limited to [1]Qualified Investors Limited to Qualified Investors Accredited & Institutional only
      Number of Investors No Limits- All type of investors No Limits- All type of investors Maximum of 30 investors (which may include up to 15 funds) No Limits- Accredited Investors or Qualified Investors.
      Compliance Arrangements Full time, the independent compliance function This function can be outsourced if the AUM is less than S$1 b. Can be outsourced as per complexity and scale of business This function can be outsourced if the AUM is less than S$1 b
      Professional Indemnity Insurance Compulsory, coverage proportionate to AUM Encouraged to be maintained Encouraged to be maintained None stipulated so far, but this should be commensurate to the scale, nature, and complexity of the specific set up
      Reporting requirements Annual and Quarterly Annual and Quarterly Annual Annual
      Risk-Based Capital Requirements 120% of Operational Risk Requirements 120% of Operational Risk Requirements None None stipulated so far, but this should be commensurate to the scale, nature, and complexity of the specific set up

      [1] Qualified investors: Accredited Investors, Collective Investment Schemes offered in Singapore only to Accredited Investors and Closed-end funds whose holders are Accredited Investors only. Accredited investors are individuals whose net personal asset exceed in value of $2 million or such other amount as the authority may prescribe as the first amount and whose financial assets exceed $1 million (net of any related liabilities) or whose income in the preceding 12 months income is not less than $300,000 or corporations with net assets exceeding S$10 million or equivalent in value.

      Key Requirements for Singapore

      Fund Management Companies

      There are several requirements that retail, accredited investors, RFMCs, and Licensed FMCs-VCFMs must comply with when setting up a Singapore Fund Management Company.

      Other Key Requirements

      1. Fit and Proper
      2. Fund administration
      3. Audit
      4. Anti-Money Laundering (AML Framework)
      5. Custody arrangement
      6. Tax regimes for funds and fund managers
      7. The Tax Exposure of Funds Managed by a Singapore Fund Manager
      8. Synopsis of Tax Incentive Schemes in Singapore for Funds
      9. Fund set-up options
      10. Companies
      11. Unit Trusts
      12. Limited Partnerships
      13. Variable Capital Company (VCC)

      Fit and Proper

      A Singapore Fund Management Company should satisfy MAS that its shareholders, directors, representatives, and employees, as well as the Fund Management Company itself, are fit and proper, in accordance with the Guidelines on Fit and Proper Criteria issued by MAS.

      Fund administration

      Fund Management Companies are required to have fund administration managed independent, or have adequate segregation of duties, particularly in the performance of functions such as valuation or fund accounting, acting as a fund register, and client reporting (e.g. sending of monthly account statements).

      Audit

      Fund Management Companies needs to have an external auditor to perform the annual independent audit. Auditors provide the auditor’s report with their opinion on the financial statements and their compliance with key licensing and business conduct requirements to MAS, this is one of the mandatory requirements for all the Fund Management Companies.

      Anti-Money Laundering (AML) Framework

      Fund Management Companies needs to have robust Know your Customer (KYC) policies in place. It is mandatory for all Fund Management Companies to put in place these policies and have an anti-money laundering framework to identify, assess, understand and address its money laundering and terrorism financing risks.

      Custody arrangement

      Fund Management Companies needs to place customers’ monies and assets with a custodian who is licensed, registered, or authorised (to perform the custodial function) in the jurisdiction where the monies or assets are being held. Notwithstanding that Singapore Fund Management Company would not have direct responsibility for appointing the custodian, it must be able to demonstrate that it has taken reasonable steps to ascertain that the assets are subject to adequate safeguards including independent custody.

      Tax regimes for funds and fund managers

      Singapore is a vital location for managers of private equity, real estate and hedge funds to be based in, especially for investments in the Asia Pacific region. Singapore is also increasingly being used as a preferred location for fund vehicles (funds). The splendid growth of the fund management industry in Singapore can be accredited to several factors, including the ease of doing business in Singapore and attractive tax incentives for funds and fund managers. Outside of the traditional offshore funds’ jurisdictions such as the Cayman Islands, Singapore is viewed as having one of the most attractive regulatory and tax regimes for funds and fund managers.

      The Tax Exposure of Funds Managed by a Singapore Fund Manager

      Singapore based fund managers that manage funds may be liable to tax in Singapore due to territorial activity. The fund manager may create a taxable presence in Singapore for the fund (whether onshore or offshore) and, therefore, certain income and gains derived by the fund may be considered as Singapore-sourced and liable to tax in Singapore. However, this tax liability could be eliminated under Singapore’s tax incentive schemes for funds, provided that certain conditions are met.

      Synopsis of Tax Incentive Schemes in Singapore for Funds

      There are three main tax exemption schemes available to funds managed by fund managers in Singapore under which “Specified Income” (including gains) derived by the fund from “Designated Investments” is exempt from tax. All funds that are subject to any of the tax incentive schemes as of 31 March 2019 may enjoy the tax exemption for the life of the fund, subject to the funds continuing to meet the relevant conditions of each scheme.

      Fund set-up options

      Funds in Singapore can either be set up as companies, unit trusts, limited partnerships, or variable capital companies (VCC).

      Companies

      The preferred structure for funds investing in Asia remains the private limited company (“PTE LTD.”) as Singapore’s tax treaties only apply to companies. Opting for the PTE LTD structure requires compliance with the Singapore Companies Act. In practice, this means that:

      • The fund has to make annual filings to both the registrar (ACRA) and the tax authorities (IRAS)
      • Any subscriptions or redemptions from the fund need to follow the requirements of company law
      • Certain information about the fund is publicly available
      • Investors invest in funds structured as companies usually via redeemable preference shares, with the promoters of the fund holding the ordinary shares.
      • Upon issuance or redemption of preference shares, companies must prepare the relevant resolutions and update the details with ACRA

      Unit Trusts

      Mutual Funds often elect to form as a Unit Trust, which offers the advantage of not being governed by the Singapore Companies Act. However, there is the need to appoint an Approved Trustee of a Unit Trust, a form of Collective Investment Scheme (CIS), possibly increasing the cost of running the structure.

      Limited Partnerships

      Limited Partnerships are a popular vehicle for funds worldwide. In Singapore, these are governed by the Limited Partnership Act. Limited Partnerships offer fewer annual compliance requirements and less public disclosure than companies. However, Singapore’s tax treaties do not apply to limited partnerships.

      Variable Capital Company (VCC)

      On October 1st 2018, a bill for a new structure was passed, called as the Variable Capital Companies’ bill. This fund structure is applicable to both open-ended and close-ended funds The benefits of a VCC structure are:

      • Provide flexibility in terms of managing investment funds in Singapore
      • Will help fund managers achieve cost efficiencies
      • Help facilitate re-domiciliation of funds
      • Help reap the benefits of tax treaties and tax exemption schemes

      To find out more about the key requirements for a Singapore fund management company or learn about licensing and registration in Singapore, contact the team at Waystone Compliance today.

      Jurisdictional Advantages of Singapore

      Learn more about the jurisdictional advantages of fund managers setup in Singapore.

      Get in touch

      Call us

      Select phone
      • Cayman Islands
      • Chicago
      • Hong Kong
      • Ireland
      • Luxembourg
      • New York
      • San Francisco
      • Singapore
      • Switzerland
      • United Arab Emirates (Dubai)
      • United Arab Emirates (Abu Dhabi)
      • United Kingdom